Division of Humanities

This academic program is housed in the Division of Humanities in the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences.

Division Homepage


B.A. in Philosophy

The philosophy major at the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences is designed to provide students with a background in the history and problems of philosophy. Students in this major will develop critical thinking, close reading, and analytical writing skills.

Philosophy questions our most basic assumptions about the ultimate nature of reality, the ground of human knowledge, the good life, and the just state. As philosophy majors, students will be able to select from a range of courses, including Logic, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Ancient Philosophy, Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Art, Philosophy of Law, Ethics, and Political Philosophy.

The philosophy major is offered during the day and evening on NSU's main campus.

Consider Selecting a Minor

Pursuing a minor can deepen your knowledge in a discipline related to your major or enable you to explore a field outside your major area of study and diversify your skills. Speak with a faculty member in your program to determine which minor(s) can support your academic, professional, and personal goals.

Dual Admission Option

Are you planning to pursue a master's or doctoral degree in a related field of study? Consider NSU's Dual Admission Program, which enables qualified undergraduates at the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences to secure early acceptance into one of the university's competitive graduate and professional degree programs.