Division of Humanities

This academic program is housed in the Division of Humanities in the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences.

Division Homepage


The philosophy minor at the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences provides students with a broad overview of philosophical issues and problems, as well as reinforcing effective writing and analytical skills. This minor can be combined with any major and minor except the philosophy major. A minimum of 9 credits must be exclusive to the minor and cannot be counted toward any other majors/minors/certificate programs.

Philosophy Minor Requirements (15 credits)

Students must complete 15 credits in any philosophy (PHIL) courses, at least 9 credits of which must be at the 3000/4000 level and no more than one of the following:

PHIL 2000 / PHIL 3010 / PHIL 3180 / PHIL 3200 / PHIL 3360

The academic program and curriculum requirements listed on this page are from the 2014-2015 edition of the NSU Undergraduate Student Catalog. Students are bound by policies and curricula published in the catalog in effect the semester they enter the university, unless an agreement is made with appropriate NSU administration officials allowing them to abide by policies published in a later catalog.