Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences

This academic program is housed in the Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences in the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences.

Division Homepage


The anthropology minor is intended to acquaint students with the cross-cultural study of people and cultures through the diverse discipline of anthropology. The anthropology minor includes an overview of anthropological theory and research methods, of interdisciplinary approaches and cultural studies, as well as an examination of the four sub-fields of anthropology. This minor can be combined with any major and minor. A minimum of 9 credits must be exclusive to the minor and cannot be counted toward any other majors/minors/certificate programs.

Anthropology Minor Requirements (18 credits)

Core Courses (12 credits)
ANTH 1020 Introduction to Anthropology (3 credits)
ANTH 2300 Cultural Anthropology (3 credits)
SOCL 1020 Introduction to Sociology (3 credits)
SOCL 3000 Research Methods in the Social Sciences (3 credits)

Minor Electives (6 credits)
Select 3 credits from the following courses:
SOCL 3500 Race and Ethnicity in the U.S. (3 credits)
SOCL 3600 Environmental Sociology (3 credits)

Select 3 credits from the following courses:
HIST 2130 Formation of Latin America (3 credits)
HIST 2300 Caribbean History (3 credits)
HIST 2400 African History (3 credits)
INST 1500 Global Issues (3 credits)

The academic program and curriculum requirements listed on this page are from the 2014-2015 edition of the NSU Undergraduate Student Catalog. Students are bound by policies and curricula published in the catalog in effect the semester they enter the university, unless an agreement is made with appropriate NSU administration officials allowing them to abide by policies published in a later catalog.